Iron Butterfly - In a gadda da vida

Iron Butterfly's 1968 album veritably defined the burgeoning genre of hard-rock, primarily by way of its utterly over-the-top title cut. Reportedly composed by keyboardist/lead singer Doug Ingle in such a stoned-out, numb-tongued condition that he couldn't properly pronounce its intended title--"In the Garden of Eden"--the track seemed almost a parody of every excessive inclination of psychedelia. Melodramatic vocals, repetitive riffing, aimless solos--you name it, this 17-minute behemoth had it. Aided by FM DJs who loved to program it in its entirety so they could take "legitimate" breaks, it became an unavoidable hit--and an anthem of its era.
From in UK
Psychedelic Rock
Iron Butterfly - In a gadda da vida - 1968
01. Most Anything You Want (3:44)
02. Flowers And Beads (3:09)
03. My Mirage (4:55)
04. Termination (2:53)
05. Are You Happy? (4:29)
06. In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida (17:05)
Total Time: 36:35
- Doug Ingle / vocals, keyboards
- Erik Brann / guitar
- Lee Dorman / bass
- Ron Bushy / drums


0 note: